Types of Yoga

Ashtanga yoga


The most athletic and physically demanding form of yoga. The foundation of this ancient system, discovered by the late Sri T. Krishnamacharya and his disciple Pattabhi Jois in the 1930's, involves a series of set postures practised in sequence (vinyasa). There are 6 sequences in all, the first is known as the Primary Series.


Pregnancy Yoga


Specialist training within our existing classes to help your body prepare for birth and support your growing bump.


Postnatal Yoga


Specialist training within our existing classes to help your body recover from birth and strengthen both your body and mind.

Hatha Yoga


Hatha yoga dates back to the 15th century.. Hatha yoga was a specific type of yoga activity that, in earlier times, prepared participants for meditating for a very long time.


Hatha yoga is sometimes called a "dual" type of yoga because it includes a duality between two opposites: the sun (in Hinda, "ha") and the moon ("tha").


Hatha yoga focuses on breathing techniques and meditation.

Kundalini Yoga


Kundalini is one of the more spiritual types of yoga. It goes beyond the physical performance of poses with its emphasis on breathing, meditation, mudras and chanting. However, the Kundalini sequences can be very physically intense. This type of yoga appeals to those who are up for both mental and physical challenges.


The Benefits of Yoga

 Cheltenham • Gloucestershire

Phone: 07768 918740

Email: silouette2010@hotmail.com